Day Two – Still Speechless

My friend and fellow Girl Scout Leader said it best last night….”holy cow, you are speechless!”, as I tried to manage the girls at last night’s meeting.  For the second day, I am rendered speechless thanks to a stiff neck that became a nasty head cold that has developed into laryngitis.  It is sheer agony for this Italian mother of two.  I take my vitamins daily. Exercise as much as time allows and always eat my veggies and fruits. Dam it!  I just don’t have time for this.

Not being to communicate verbally, I decided to take the day off (translation: working from my bed with laptop plugged in) so as to rest my voice.  With both children in school and thanks to caller ID, I can remain silent while nursing my throat with warm tea and honey.

And speaking of my two children, I am sensing this is beginning to take a toll on them.  At first, they mocked me and snickered.

“What did you say, Mommy?”

“Was that Mommy trying to tell us to wash up for dinner?”

“What is the raspy sound coming from the kitchen?”

But this morning, their tune was different.

“Mommies get sick?”

“Don’t you have to be in the office?”

“Will you ever be able to talk ever again?”

“You can still make me lunch, even if you can’t talk, right”

Before the children left the house this morning, my oldest brought me a glass of water with lemon and demanded my voice return by this afternoon and my youngest told me he would make the best art project at school that would make me feel better.  So I have quite a task ahead of me to get my voice back before this afternoon.  Aside from warm tea and honey and very warm water bottle (thanks to my very very dear friend), any suggestions?

Leave a comment