Officially Grown-Ups…I think!

My parents with the children circa 2008

My parents with the children circa 2008

Juggling my career and my children and my family was possible mostly as a result of very helping parents and in-laws.  From the moment my oldest was born, my retired father dotted and cared for her when I returned to work when she was just six months old.  Two years later, Little Man came along and my newly retired mother swooped in.

And since then, we have had my helping parents and in-laws at the house for one or two days every week for almost nine years.  Over the years (as documented in many of my posts), we have had our ups and downs.  And while I often mock my very own Mother – aside from her relentless help, she has provided us with much needed laughter and entertainment.

Well now, the party is over.  My brother and sister-in-law are in need of the same help we sought from my parents and I can not deny them what my parents gave to me.

So Hubby and I are officially grown-ups…or at least I think we are.  For the first time, we are managing our careers and the children and the home without any extra set of hands.  We are making excellent use of our dear friendships with local friends and coming up with the most ingenious carpools, in where everyone – including the gleeful kids who have built-in play dates – benefit.

And then there is the laundry and housework.  Good Lord does it suck being the only person doing laundry for four people!  And don’t get me started on the housework.   Boy, did my Mother do far more than I ever gave her credit for.

So I want to take a moment to publicly thank my Mom for just about everything.  She may drive me crazy, but she is the very best.  Mom, I hope one day to be as good a Mother as you are.

ps….can you teach me how to iron?

2 thoughts on “Officially Grown-Ups…I think!

  1. I read that a stay-at-home mom’s responsibilities is worth over $100K, so a working mom has to squeeze most of those tasks into a few hours in the evening and on the weekend in addition to her paid gig. That means working moms have at least two jobs, and are significantly underpaid and over-worked. It’s so important to have a good support system!!!

Leave a Reply

