Facebook Changed Me

facebook_logoHello.  My name is CC Fowler and I have been a Facebook user since 2006.

I joined shortly after my second child was born and truth be told, I joined to see what old friends I lost touch with were up to.  Once I had found everyone I thought I wanted to find, my usage and purpose for Facebook evolved.  With my curiosity satiated, I began to delete “friends” who clearly were connected to me for the same reasons I was connected to them – to be nosy.  There was no loved lost and it seemed I was not alone in this action.  I was deleted by many a-friends too and quite honestly, it felt good.

But with as many “friends” as I deleted, I gained many more.

My relationship with Facebook again morphed into a phase which clearly mirrored my life at that time.  Deciding the housing market was officially kaput, Hubby and I decided to set our roots and become part of our local community.  And with this move came a new slew of friends – local friends, parents of my children’s friends and neighbors too.  It was the perfect tool to stay connected and keep track of what was cooking locally.  It is still to this day, one my favorite parts of Facebook.

But nothing ever stays the same and yet another phase began to take over.

In 2011, Facebook prompted my alias life of CC Fowler – the blogger.  Why write a status about motherhood or being a mother who freely chose to return to work when I could write a post?   Why not share my experiences with those who were about to embark, were already sharing the ride or just deciding to take this crazy roller coaster of motherhood journey. With that, Centraljerseyworkingmoms was born.  Through this phase of Facebook, I have met and made more “friends” – many of whom I respect and treasure.  In fact, we became friends after we met on Facebook!   Who would have ever thought!  Certainly not me.

Seven years later – 7 years ( I can hardly believe it’s been seven years) – Facebook is a part of my every day life.  I use it to catch up with friends.  I use it for work.  I use it like I use my coffee machine – every day and often.  I can remember approaching the Executive Director of my company suggesting we create a company Facebook page.  It was a rejected idea that eventually was accepted.  Today, I administer six company pages.

Nothing places a smile on my face faster than and old friend sharing a birthday of their parent or the announcement of the birth of a child.  News I would not be privy to if I was not on Facebook.  Sure, there are times (many in fact) where reading a “friend’s” post will send me into a tizzy, but over the years I have come to learn these posts are “friends” trying to communicate who they are (or want us to believe they are) and they have just as much right to enjoy their dose of Facebook as much as I (see the joys of “unfriending” earlier in this post).

Only time will tell how Facebook will impact me – my view of society – others perceptions of me – and my perceptions of others.  But until then, I am CC Fowler and I’m a Facebook user.

Now how about a vague post to draw out a response?

2 thoughts on “Facebook Changed Me

  1. I love this. For the bat rep that Facebook tends to have, there is so much good that comes from it. And I have made the argument time and time again that Facebook (and social media in general) has made people more social and more interested in spending time together because we have the social network to bond and get to know each other better. And to answer the first question, I signed up *I think* just before the birth of my first child in 2008. I stayed away while I was still in the education system because, at the time, I didn’t think it was appropriate for me to be there. Boy has it evolved!

    • It certainly has evolved! I think in the end history will show Facebook will have changed how we communicate and interact. Like any other “substance”, Facebook needs to be used in moderation and wisely 😉

Leave a Reply

