Working Moms Love the “F” Word

MM900178212Call us what you like, but when it comes down to juggling work and children and family and life in general, the average working mom LOVES the “F” word.  By definition, it means Capable of being bent repeatedly without injury or damage, and my friends it is the word that makes us happy campers.

MM900283480Alright, enough teasing.  I am talking about Flexibility.  Without it, our worlds as executives and nurses and teachers and mothers and wives and single mothers would be unattainable.  In fact, I think it’s safe to say most of us would take flexibility over money any day.   For those of us who do have it, we do not take it lightly.

Case in point:  Our after school situation has been temporarily changed and leaves us without anyone to greet our cherubs off the bus two of the five days of the week.  While in theory, I am sure they would be perfectly capable of staying home for the 90 minutes in between their arrival and my arrival, I am not one of those moms who has perfect children AND I know what my children can get in to so arrangements need to be made.

Without grief of issue, I inform my superiors at the office that I need to leave early from time to time and that I plan to make up my work after the children are fast asleep.  Sure, I would love to watch a movie with Hubby or catch up on the latest Book Club selection, but life is all about give and take and I am willing to give and take on this issue.

Now don’t get me wrong.  This is not an option for everyone and there are some careers that cannot allow for this flexibility. (I am a Marketing/PR Manager and most – if not all – of my work is done on a computer.) It is for this very reason that I always find myself “working” or “developing” new projects or programs.  I suppose subconsciously, I am forever proving that I am worthy of this flexibility I have been given.  I guess only time will tell.  One day, I will not be needed to greet my smiling (sometimes bickering if they are seated together) children get off the bus.

Until then, however I cherish the situation that I find myself and love my favorite “F” word.

6 thoughts on “Working Moms Love the “F” Word

  1. Great article. I loved your teasing in the beginning, its what pulled me into the piece. Nice hook. I’ve been working from home for 15 years in order to be here for my kids. It has its pros (the F word) and cons (less money than if I worked full-time in NYC) but I do not regret my decision ever. The juggle can be a challenge, but well worth it if you can make it happen. Thankfully, like you, my world is the internet. That is how I structured it way back in 1998. I’m very thankful we have this option.

    • You paved the way for me and millions of other working moms, Deborah – and for that I thank you. Sometime the juggling is seamless and other times a mess but knowing I have flexibility on my side makes it tangible.

Leave a Reply

