If Not Now, When?

Snow is falling on this day, the 29th of December 2012.  There are just two days until 2013 arrives and all of its promise and hopes.  But before we take the leap into 2013, I wanted to take a moment to look back on 2012.

To say it has been quite a year is an understatement.PicMonkey Collage

In preparing to write this piece, I took a look back at what consumed my blog in 2012.  And it quickly became clear that life is never boring and quite honestly, these are the days in which they should be never boring – and for that, I am grateful.

Milestones were plentiful – First Communion, First Day of Kindergarten, First time on national TV and First time in Ireland.

Mishaps were plentiful too – Missed birthday calls, broken promises and failed resolutions.

Laughter was abound – Late night with girlfriends, Patch blog taking a life of its own and kids saying the darn-est thing.

Sadness was present – Hurricanes, shootings and lost opportunities.

Kindness and goodness abound – Homes open to friends and family, visits with soup made with love and encouraging words when they were needed most.

In the closing months of 2012, much occurred that lent to feeling that anything pre-October was a lifetime ago.  Heartbreak, disbelief and grief on a national level impacted my every day life and that of my family.  But through it all, writing my posts helped me sort through my feelings and allowed me to place things in perspective.

To 2012, I thank you for all the love and laughter, grief and sadness, lessons and experiences.  You were a year of learning and growing.

To 2013, I welcome you with open arms and an open mind.  I hope I can retain the passion and commitment to fill the pages of this blog with posts and stories that will continue to connect me with those who help me create these posts and those who are kind enough to read them.

Because if not now, when?

 

 

Leave a Reply

