A Little More Often

What I love the absolute most about summer is the laid back, easy-going lifestyle of the overall season.  Long sunny days and cool star filled nights…….  Well, that’s how I envision the perfect summer anyway!  The reality is – our summer is nothing like that.

Yes, the summer months are less stressed and scheduled than those we face during the school year, but this summer,  meetings and lessons and social commitments are creeping into what is normally a quiet week!

On my way home from work today, the rain fell and the idea of what was ahead of me was daunting and stressful.  As I looked ahead, I noticed the sky seemed to be clearing in the area I was headed.  Wouldn’t it be nice, I thought, to just go home and make dinner with the kids and “hang”.  In that moment, I made the executive decision to cancel everything on the agenda – everything.  Before I could change my mind, I cancelled one lesson and postponed two appointments.  Tonight, was going to be just for me and my family.

Together we ate dinner, watched our oldest master riding her two wheel bike, played a lively game of Monopoly and even caught some 2012 Olympic programming before it was time to call it a night.  With both kids heading up to bed, my oldest kissed me and said, “We need to do this a little more often.”

Life is so busy and I am often at fault for not stopping to smell the roses.  I can easily write about taking the time to do so, but what good are my words if I cannot actually follow through.  So with just a few weeks left in the summer months, you may see a little less of me on the weekends and maybe weekdays too.  Before I know it, it will be September and life will go back into high gear.

So here is to taking a tini tiny step back from the laptop and a step closer to my little ones.

 

 

 
photo credit: DavidDMuir via photo pin cc

Leave a Reply

