Hanging Up My Reality Shoes

I am a 36-year-old gal (which no lie, I had to use a calculator not too long ago to confirm this) who is wife to my Hubby (who still sets off the butterflies in my belly), mother to two perfect children (who give me ample blog material) AND for one week in May of 2012, a Reality TV Show recipient.

Crowding into the family room

Last Saturday, Mom Caves, aired the episode which took place in my very own home.  In all honesty, filming the episode was a tremendous amount of fun and I often forgot I was being caught on film.  However, as the air date approached, I was becoming more and more anxious as to how the episode would turn out.  At first, I told Hubby we would not remind a soul about the show and hope everyone would forget.  But just days before their airing of our Library Lounge, I decided that watching myself on TV would be best in the comfort of my own home and with my family and friends by my side.  So at 7:30pm Saturday night, Mom Caves aired and I was surrounded with love.

And what did I think of the show?  I watched with my eyes partially covered and with a glass of red wine in my hand.  My initial thought – yikes, I am much fatter than I thought.  I would like to tell you that the camera adds 20 pounds to you but it’s really 50 pounds!  (only kidding).  OK…. so I am going to focus on shedding pounds but that is another post for another day.  Once I got over the shock of seeing myself on my very own TV and allowed the wine in my glass to help me forget this was being aired on national TV, I was able to relax and enjoy the show.

The “wallpaper” really works!

All in all, I loved the show. In a nutshell….

Yes. I hate wallpaper but love the way it looks in the room.

No. I don’t keep my kids in the trunk we found at Home Goods.

Yes. Jared and Beth are AS nice as they seem on TV.

No. I don’t say the word “dude” on a daily basis (in my defense, I had not eaten all day, just seen my room for the first time, had a glass of wine and was asked to talk about the room on camera).

Yes. Everything in the room is mine to keep and we do have to pay taxes on it.

No.  I have no plans to repaint or change the room in any way.

Yes. That was real wine were drinking at Ciano’s in NYC.

The Book Club, minus a few members

And last but not least, I have hosted book club in the room since its renovation.  In fact, the filming ended on Friday, May 11th and Book Club was hosted on Saturday, May 12th.  The room did consume most of the night’s conversation, but it was hard not to dwell and talk about what just happened.

Hours and hours of footage was taken that week and just 23 minutes of what was taped aired.  So they failed to mention that I juggle my career and home and me and having this Book Club has been so instrumental on giving this Mom back a little piece of who I used to be before life took over. And not just me. My friends who make up the Book Club are moms just like you and me- and are smart, funny, kind and the very reason why Mom Caves bestowed the Library Lounge to not just me, but our group.  This room is as much theirs as it is mine and I look forward to entertaining in the months and years to come!

And for some snap shots:

Surprise! You are on Mom Caves.
Sign this form and wear this mic!

Although you live here, the room is off

Yes, we love Beth

My Best Friend since age 5. She postponed everything and spent the week with me to film the episode. And yes….check out that wallpaper…;-)

Filming in NYC…such a blast!

I still can’t believe THAT is about little old us!

7 thoughts on “Hanging Up My Reality Shoes

  1. Love the recap and so sorry I couldn’t be there in person to celebrate! You’re a brave woman to watch yourself. I think I would have hidden in the other room! Can’t wait to watch it when the rerun airs!!! I’m obsessed with the wallpaper too 🙂

  2. I’m glad I caught this, although I’m a couple of weeks late in doing so! We had some reality TV folks in our house for a night. I was OK while they were there, but when they left, ooooh, did I sweat it! I was in agony about what they would or wouldn’t show; in the end, they showed very, very little of me, and all was well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

