She made Jelly Bread

I did not run or shower this morning.  I simply brushed my teeth and washed my face.  With a busy day ahead of me, I leaped into my morning routine, cutting corners where I thought I could, and quickly began to juggle working from home.  As I was almost finished with answering emails from work and making lunch, Little Man did what he does every morning – check what I packed him for lunch.

After rummaging through his lunch box, he calls out to his older sister,

“She made Jelly Bread!” 

In our house, when there is nothing left to make for lunch, Jelly Bread is served – white-looking wheat bread with jelly.  Back in the day, it would have been peanut butter and jelly, but with allergies – this easy, simple lunch is no longer an option.  (OH how I loved PB&J lunches as a kid!)

After various cries of disdain from my daughter, Little Man turns to me and says, “I know you are busy Mommy, but try to squeeze in food shopping in your schedule today.”

I did “squeeze” in food shopping, two reports, laundry, emails, lunch and it’s only just 3pm.  And just when I am wrapping up one more report and getting one off the bus and the other from school, dinner prep and late afternoon prep begins.

Funny thing is – I wouldn’t want it any other way!

3 thoughts on “She made Jelly Bread

Leave a Reply

