There is Always Time for a Home Cooked Meal from the Grill-More Girls …Sort of!

I waited.  And I waited.  I waited.  However, shortly after Tuesday,  I decided to let Mother Nature win.

With Memorial Day on the horizon this weekend, I intended to dedicate this post to the All-American BBQ.  I was going to grill chicken, hot dogs, corn on the cob and peppers too.  On the side, I was going to prepare my broccoli cappelletti dish and my Italian potato salad. (OK, maybe not ALL American but 75% American).

But the weather never cooperated.  On the nights I could prepare this meal, I was either tied up with meetings or errands.  On nights I was home to whip up this feast, there was no one to cook for – or the heavens poured down buckets of rain.

In the end, I gave up on the grill and made a simple golden chicken salad.

Golden Chicken Salad

1 package of thin sliced chicken cutlets

2 cups of bread crumbs

1 fresh garlic glove minced

1 teaspoon oregano

1 egg

1 cup of olive oil

Lettuce, Tomato, Cucumbers, Olives, Cheese

Take the chicken and rinse each slice.  Place on a towel to absorb.  In the meantime, whip the egg in a shallow bowl and set aside.  Combine bread crumbs, garlic, oregano in a shallow bowl.  Place the oil in a frying pan and heat.

Take chicken and dip each slice in the egg wash, then bread crumbs and place in frying pan.  Make sure the heat is set between medium and low.  This allows the chicken to get crispy and golden.  Depending on thickness, each side should cook at least 5 minutes.

Once each slice is cooked, place over your salad and enjoy!

Now it’s your turn.  Hop on over to The Harried Mom to see what she is grilling or visit me on Facebook and share your recipe there!

Leave a Reply

