Just A Little Longer Mommy

It has been a very good weekend.  From Thursday afternoon to 7am this morning, Spring Break has been near perfect.  Filled with family, friends, laughter and good wine, it has truly been a relaxing break.

However, all good things must come to an end.  This week, despite both children having the week off from school, tasks, deadlines and assignments still beckon for me at the office.   The remaining days of the week consist of creative planning and juggling to ensure the children are entertained and enjoying not only their time off from school, but quality time with their grandparents.

So as I sat at my desk this morning preparing my task list for today and looking at the week ahead,  Little Man made his way to my home work station and with one simple phrase, changed the entire day’s approach………  “Just a little longer, Mommy!”

Of course, it did not take me long to agree to his terms.  I will be calling into the office today to let my staff know that I am extended Spring Break just a little longer.  I am reachable if needed, but today the children will come first.  I am not certain what we will do.  Maybe a picnic in the park or a trip to the library or a hike along the Canal..  Whatever we do, we will be together.   My work load will be a little heavier when I return, but it will be worth the extra kisses and hugs I get to steal and the memories we will make.

Leave a comment