When Too Busy is BAD

For those who follow my blog, you will notice that my fingers have been quiet since my last Thursday Crock Pot post.  Between office work, meetings, reading a terribly written trilogy, and social commitments – I haven’t had the time to sit at my newly decorated super-duper work station and just write.

At the expense of sounding like a whiny working mama, the past few days were busy personified….

Friday…Social Media meeting with some of the most creative minds in the Princeton area, two conference calls, one report, errands, hair salon appointment, reading crappy-but-addictive book from trilogy, pick up children from school, dinner, family time.

Saturday…..coffee, organize kids overnight bags, several chapters of crappy-but-addictive book from trilogy, amazing luncheon with the Girls Lunch Out, concoct way-too-strong Jello shots for a good friend’s party, finish up book two from crappy-but-addictive trilogy, 40th Birthday Party with some of the best crew around, return home way too late.

Sunday…wake up to a perfectly peaceful quiet home because my angelic in-laws took the children for an overnight and then …………….. I shot straight out of bed and felt ill – Saturday was my father’s birthday and we never called him.  My father, who would (and did) drive to the ends of the earth for both myself and my children never heard from us.  To say I felt horrible, would be an understatement.

And this is when Too Busy is just down right BAD.

I remorsefully called and of course my father was ever so gracious and understanding.  “No big-a deal-a,” he replied.  “I know you so busy.”   I had to choke back the tears and the growing lump in my throat.  “We celebrate next week Al Le Palme.”   We had planned to celebrate all of the March birthdays this coming Palm Sunday, but that still doesn’t warrant forgetting the phone call.

Later that morning after the children returned home and we were en route to celebrate a Christening, my children called their Nonno and sang their screeching rendition of Happy Birthday Cha- Cha- Cha.  You could hear the delight in my father’s voice as they spoke and it really only made my heart ache even more.

As I sat there in the car, I thought about how I schedule everything and try to be everything to everyone and everything.  Something is bound to fall through the cracks and sadly this time, it was the man who gave up everything for me.  My father is getting on in age and I should cherish not only him, the remaining elders in our family.

So in the days and weeks to come, I am going to make more of an effort to really prioritize and keep what matters most in perspective.  Life is too short not too.

4 thoughts on “When Too Busy is BAD

  1. Amen sister! Don’t be too hard on yourself – you pop sounds like he’s a pretty easy going guy. Just make sure you do it up for him this weekend at Al Le Palme – whether it’s food or something the kids sing/perform to make it more special. Sometimes life gets in the way of life!

  2. I feel your pain! I forget a lot of stuff, but the one thing I try to do each month is remember birthdays. You can blame tour forgetting ob me, if that helps. I’ll take the fall! Happy birthday to your dad!

  3. I hear ya – we are all so busy. I’m sure your father understands, although I’m also sure it was very tough on you. We all love you and think you are an amazing woman!

Leave a Reply

