There is Always Time for a Home Cooked Meal – Good Ole Chicken Soup

Perhaps it’s the unusually warm temperatures here in NJ or the fact that I swamped with work, but I never made it around to getting my Crock Pot out to make Cilantro Lime Chicken this week.  Instead, I have been de-frosting and enjoying meals I cooked over the relatively mild winter – one which is made best in a Crock Pot!  So I decided to put a new twist on Crock Pot Thursday this week.  The recipe I am sharing with you is not one I made this week, but one I made two months ago and has been feeding my family dinner and sometimes lunch when I am in a pinch.

Good Ole Chicken Soup is great anytime of the year.  The soup is so very hearty and filled with nutrients and simple goodness.  The recipe is easy to make and if you have one hour  to spare to prep and divide the meals into containers, the rewards are endless.

I recommend purchasing disposable Tupperware containers in three different sizes.  This allows you to use the container that best suits the amount of people you need to feed.  For example, I use the bigger container when I am feeding my family of four and use the smallest container when I need to feed just my children.

So to make this delicious Good Ole Chicken Soup you will need the following:

2 cups of bite sized carrots

2 cups of bite sized celery

2 cups of bite sized potatoes

2 pieces of chicken breast w/bone

1 small piece of parmesan cheese

2 quarts of water

1 bay leaf

Place all the veggies first and then add the chicken, cheese, water and bay leaf.  Cook on high for 4 hours.  Once complete, remove the chicken and shred.  Remove the cheese and either discard or taste a tiny piece.  It’s sinfully delicious, but very fattening.

Once the chicken is shredded, place it and the veggies in the various containers with the broth and let it cool down.  Once at room temperature, snap the lids on and place in the freezer.  If you have extra broth, place that in a jar and save it in your fridge for up to 10 days to use in various other dishes (great for smashed potatoes).

When you need a good, healthy meal in a pinch, reach into your freezer and defrost the soup in a pot.  Boil water for pasta and in less time it takes to heat canned soup, you have a delightful and rich Chicken Soup everyone will enjoy!

Buon Appetito!

So now it’s your turn!  Post your recipe on your blog and link with The Harried Mom and I or simply post your recipe in the comments section here on Facebook!

Leave a Reply

