There is Always Time for a Home Cooked Meal – Triple Berry Cobbler

It’s Thursday and it’s Time for a Home Cooked DESSERT!  Yes, The Harried Mom and I tried our hand at making a dessert this week.  And while we intended to make the same dessert, my recipe had to be altered at the very last-minute due to …..well…..just read on and you’ll see.

So this week’s recipe is the fruit of my pinning habits over on Pinterest.  In all honesty, I was drawn in by the photo and never really looked at the recipe until I decided to share it with my cooking pal, The Harried Mom.  I believe my exact wording was “this kinda looks easy”.

Fast forward to Monday.  Already one day behind, I missed cooking on Sunday due to the lack of sleep from the night before (but that is a completely different post).  So Monday morning, I reviewed what ingredients I needed and headed out to my beloved McCaffrey’s.  Among the list of required ingredients, tapioca was the first on the list.  Not able to find polenta in the baking aisle, I decided to ask the customer service desk.

“What aisle can I find polenta?”

After selecting the polenta and the other ingredients I was ready for start my masterpiece.

My WTF!?! moment came when I needed to add the tapioca ingredient and realized I bought polenta.  I swear to you the list that I wrote clearly stated “tapioca”.  And yet, I have no idea how or why I began looking for polenta.  In an utter state of panic and with the berries already simmering in the pot, I scoured the cabinet for a possible substitute.  I could already hear my hubby saying, “Baking is a science. NO substitutions!”    AHA…I found the chocolate pudding.  It’s chocolate.  How bad can it be, right?

Ok….so not one of my best “concoctions”, but it was still very delicious …..if you ate it with ice cream.

Buon Appetito!

Triple Berry Cobbler

Ingredients

1 cup all-purpose flour

3/4 cups sugar

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg

2 eggs, lightly beaten

tablespoons vegetable oil

2 tablespoons milk

2 cups each of fresh or frozen blueberries, raspberries and blackberries (I used fresh)

1 cup sugar

1 cup water

3 tablespoons quick-cooking tapioca (NOT POLENTA)

Vanilla ice cream, whipped cream, half-and-half, or light cream (optional)

Directions:

1. In a medium bowl, stir together flour, 3/4 cup sugar, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, and nutmeg. In a small bowl, combine eggs, oil, and milk. Add egg mixture all at once to flour mixture. Stir just until moistened. Set aside.

2. In a large saucepan, combine blueberries, raspberries, blackberries, 1 cup sugar, the water, and tapioca. Bring to boiling. Pour hot fruit mixture into a 3 1/2- or 4-quart slow cooker. Immediately spoon the batter over fruit mixture.

3. Cover and cook on high-heat setting for 1 3/4 to 2 hours or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the topper comes out clean.

4. Remove liner from cooker, if possible, or turn off cooker. Let stand, uncovered, for 1 hour to cool slightly. To serve, spoon warm cobbler into dessert dishes. If desired, top with ice cream.

So now it’s your turn!  Post your recipe on your blog and link with The Harried Mom and I or simply post your recipe in the comments section here on Facebook!

 

4 thoughts on “There is Always Time for a Home Cooked Meal – Triple Berry Cobbler

    • So the next day, it topped the slice of cheescake. I could not eat it b/c I am trying to watch my weight but my father who has not let me live the rubber chicken recipe down, loved it! It was certainly not cobbler!

Leave a Reply

