It’s Time to Eat Healthy Again

Growing up, food was the center of every event, every family function and the choice topic of conversation if you stopped in at my Nonna’s house.

“Che mangati tooo-night?”  Nonna would ask when we stopped in after school.  And surprisingly, regardless of how young we were, both my brother and I would know what our mother was cooking for dinner that night because meal selections were always discussed.  Using only the freshest ingredients and the purest of olive oil, the women in my family cooked the most delicious meals without fail.

Fast forward to present day.  While I hope that the practices and ways I grew up with come through when I cook for my children, at times I am guilty of the fast food dinner or pizza pick-up.  I question whether my children will really understand what it is to eat healthy and the importance of a well-balanced diet.  Each of our meals have fruits and vegetables included (and yes, apples from the fast food place sometimes counts as that particular meal’s “healthy”) and we don’t drink soda unless it’s a special occasion (and no, “Mommy, I didn’t trip my sister when she came out of her room” is not one of them).

As mothers, we are under constant scrutiny both by others and ourselves to provide only the best for our children.  With our over scheduled lives, finding the time to incorporate one more thing into the already hectic day can be stressful.  Wouldn’t it be great to receive just a simple tip or suggestion that requires very little change in our daily lives, but will make a significant change in the health of our children and ourselves?

Well, beginning today there is!  In honor of National Nutrition Month, I will be sharing one “eat healthy tip” per day thanks to D’ Alto Nutrition on my Facebook page.  Owner and Registered Dietitian, Elisabeth D’Alto (surprise, she’s Italian too!) is sharing her daily “eat healthy tips” on Facebook and with her clients and has graciously allowed me to share them with you.

So let this March be the start of something very new and very healthy.

And as my Nonna always says (and still does at a very robust age of 93) ……..”Mangia Mangia”

National Nutrition Month (NNM) Tip #1:
*Eat breakfast everyday.*

Combine carbohydrates and protein together for a longer lasting sense of satiety. Try yogurt and granola, cereal and milk, peanut butter and banana, or oatmeal and frozen blueberries.

Daily Tips can be found on D’Alto Nutrition

8 thoughts on “It’s Time to Eat Healthy Again

    • I’ll let the D’Alto Nutrition know of your request 😉 AND I think I did read that one glass of dark red wine is essential to you health…..now the bottle…..not too sure.

  1. Pingback: Teach a Kid How to Eat, They Will Eat Healthy for a Lifetime « FastFoodMom (FFMs)

  2. Pingback: Teach a Kid How to Eat, They Will Eat Healthy for a Lifetime

  3. Oh, I’m going to be checkin up on those tips! I have made a diet overhaul since the beginning of the year… as I get older- I notice how y body is not as forgiving as before- it just does not “bounce back” the way it did when I was younger. I have for the first time in my life started to pay attention to vitamins and nutrients in what I eat. I have found a great way to make a healthier pizza is to use a wholegrain torilla or pita as a base… and the use low-fat cheese… ;o)

  4. Pingback: Teach a Kid How to Eat, They Will Eat Healthy for a Lifetime -

  5. Pingback: TODAY – Brian Cuban Interviews Larry North about 11 Healthy Eating Myths « MEDCRUNCH

Leave a Reply

