There is Always Time for a Home Cooked Meal – “Rubber” Honey Chicken

They say if you do something everyday for 30 days, it becomes habit.  However, in my cookbook, if you try using a Crock Pot once a week over 30 days, it will absolutely become a habit.  Today marks the 4th week The Harried Mom and I have been sharing our Crock Pot recipes!  This week The Harried Mom has our mouths (and lips) watering with her Lip-Smacking Good Pot Roast and I have “Rubber” Honey Chicken and a lesson learned.

As I mentioned several weeks ago, I am extremely fearful of leaving my Crock Pot on when I leave for the work.  Hence, my previous three recipes were created on a weekend when I was home to monitor the progression of the meal.  This week, however, I was going to take a leap (yes, yesterday on Leap Day) and try this “plug-in the Crock Pot and walk away” action so many of our readers and fellow Crock Pot users practice.  Mostly in part because I knew my father would be at my house to check in on the Crock Pot, I was willing to give it a try.  I woke early to put together what I intended to be Golden Honey Chicken dish and left for work.

At around 10am, my father calls to tell me that the lid to the Crock Pot is rattling and steam is rising from the Crock Pot.

“Is it burning?” I ask.

“I no know. No smell too good,” says my father in his best broken English.  “Il Pollo is brown,” he continues.  When his sentences are spoken is half English and half Italian I know he means business.

“Try stirring the Crock Pot with the big spoon and ….” I began to say.

“Crees-te, I no a chef. I turn it off!” declared my father.

Sitting at my desk I was faced with a dinner-less night and figuring out what and how I would write this piece.

Well, as it turned out, my father did not turn off the Crock Pot but lowered the setting and monitored the meal.  Some time after lunch, he turned off the Crock Pot.

My recipe really only needed to be set to 4 hours high as opposed to 7 hours low.  What would have happened if my father was not home?  Would the meal have burned?  I think I could live with a burned meal, but could something worse have happened?

For now, I will play it safe and stick to my weekend cooking stints.  And in my father’s very wise words I quote, “Crees-tee, fare polpette e maccheroni con sugo e saremo tutti sicuri!”

Translation: Make macaroni with meatballs and sauce and we will all be safe!

And as for dinner…..I let my fingers do the dialing for take out!

Golden Honey Chicken  

If you try this, please let me know if it works for you

Ingredients:

6 pieces of chicken cutlets

1  1/2 cup of honey

1 cup of soy sauce

1 cup of water

1/4 cup of olive oil

1 teaspoon of salt

1 teaspoon of pepper

Directions:

Place the chicken cutlets in the Crock Pot and set the time to 4 hours (not 7 like I did).

Mix all the remaining ingredients in a bowl and pour over the chicken.

Stir occasionally

Serve with either rice or placed in soft Italian rolls with lettuce and tomato

Buon Appettito!

Do you have a recipe to share?  Visit The Harried Mom and then submit your recipe through the Link Up.

3 thoughts on “There is Always Time for a Home Cooked Meal – “Rubber” Honey Chicken

  1. Slow cooker recipes that instruct you to use a lot of honey or other ingredients high in sugar result in epic failures. The sugar burns far more quickly than the food can cook and burns to the slow cooker. I’m a huge fan of the slow cooker (and have great recipes to share!) but stay far away from recipes requiring sugar. Also, if you’re uncertain about a new recipe, Reynolds makes great slow cooker liners. If something goes terribly wrong, then at least you’re not spending the rest of the night scrubbing the ceramic insert!

Leave a Reply

