Just One Song

My morning office routine consists of my second cup of coffee, a quick scan of all emails that need my attention and a quick pop over to Facebook (I am sure I am not the only one doing so ;-).

Anyway, today a dear friend from my past posted a simple post about a song that instantly brought me back to my one summer at the Cape.  I was just 14 and vacationing with my best friend and her family.  We were young and all about music, making mixed tapes, beading bracelets and being tan.  Such simple pleasures. Simple times.

This post rendered various smile inducing comments from other women I do not know and a proclamation that it’s Michael Penn Day.

Isn’t it amazing how just one song can transport you to another time/place and connect with you total strangers?  I have a multitude of soundtracks that mirror various times of my life (which is certainly verbage for another post).  However, today – I am 14.  It is summer and Romeo is in black jeans.

 

2 thoughts on “Just One Song

  1. It’s that so weird, how you can hear a song and it totally transports you back to a specific day, time and memory. I haven’t heard this song in a long time…I was in HS when this song came out – most of my friends had just started driving – and I remember listening to this song while driving aimlessly around our small town….

Leave a Reply

