Raising my Children in New Jersey

 

Sunset Beach, Cape May, NJ

According to the Child Well-Being Index, released by the Foundation for Child Development, our very own Garden State is ranked the #1 place to raise your child. 

Well, this is great news, but I kinda already knew that. 

For those of us who live in NJ, we know this state is more than just guidos living in a home in Seaside or overly manicured women making much ado about nothing in north Jersey.  The rest of us know that despite the high taxes and heavy congestion,  this is a great place to raise our children. 

I, for one, love that I can drive 45 minutes south and see my children building sand castles and playing in the surf.  If I drive 45 minutes north, I can take my children skiing or snow tubing.  Libraries, museums, educational events and top-notch entertainment are plentiful.  Sports, activities and lessons can be scheduled to match almost any talent.  Lighthouses, historal battlefields and parks are living, beathing lessons in disguise of fun.   And while school districts within our state can be competitive and sometimes exhausting, the mere selection of all the possible cities is worth the stress of choosing where to live.

In all fairness, I have only lived in New Jersey so I am admittedly biased.  However, it’s nice to live in a place recognized for more than just fist pumping.

One thought on “Raising my Children in New Jersey

Leave a Reply

