How Long Do You Save An Email?

There is a running joke in my office with regards to my email inbox.  Should you have corresponded with me in 2002, chances are I would still have the emails – and possible documentation that was discussed – saved somewhere in my inbox.  I currently house 100+ file folders with each of them containing at least two sub folders each totaling hundreds of folders and housing thousands of emails.

There are some days when I look at my inbox and contemplate deleting any emails prior to 2005, but at the last moment, I loose my nerve and decide it would be too time consuming to perform such an exercise.

There are also times, however, when a colleague will reach out requesting information on a project we worked on or in need of some information that can only be found deep in my email inbox archive.  At those moments, I “geekily” present the information of our correspondence and any necessary documentation to my colleague.  Sometimes, they are delighted with the material and sometimes they look at me with a bewildered “what a freak” look.

So my question is this:  How long do you save emails?  There must be a logical and simple answer to this question.  Any chance you know?  HELP!

2 thoughts on “How Long Do You Save An Email?

Leave a Reply

