One for the Baby Book

Laying in bed, my little man who was snuggled by my side keeping me safe during one of Daddy’s recent business trips, turns to me with his big clear eyes and says,

“Mommy, I am so sorry you lost your cherry.  I know you can’t get it back, but if I could, I would get you a new one.”

Whhhhhhhhaaaaaaaatttttt?    In one moment I was confused, disturbed, horrified and curious.  This conversation had the potential of turning sour quickly and quite frankly, I wasn’t sure how to proceed. 

Questions.  Yes, I thought.  Let me ask questions.

“What cherry did I lose?”  It seemed the most logical route to take.

My little man responds, “You know. Your cherry. Everyone has one.”

Oh Boy.  This was not looking good.  Where and how did this topic reach him?  I can’t imagine this was the subject at story time or small talk at the art table.  I did what I thought was best.  I tried to change the subject.

But my little man continued, “If you just had let me hold your cherry, it would not have fallen in the toilet.”

WTF? 

And THEN it clicked.  My phone – my blackBERRY – experienced a sad demise which my little one was witnessed to. 

Smiling from ear to ear I asked, “Do you mean my BlackBerry?”   

“Yes, Mommy.  I am sorry you lost your blackberry in the toilet.”

And that folks, will most certainly be recorded in his baby book.

4 thoughts on “One for the Baby Book

  1. I can’t tell you how hard I’m laughing right now. Oh the awkward conversation we DO NOT want to have. Kudos to you mom for knowing to ask more questions before proceeding with an all too early lesson on the birds and bees or a complete teary melt down 🙂 You’re a smart momma and I’m still laughing.

  2. That is HILARIOUS! I’m always amazed at what our kids pick up. Just this morning I dropped my 4 year old son off at Pre-K this morning to a classroom filled with 10 girls. He was the first boy to arrive. My son grabs my leg and said “Mommy, you can’t leave me here alone….it’s all yucky GIRLS! I told him that he shouldn’t be afraid, they’re nice and it’s not like they’re alligators, they won’t bite. In a deadpan reply, my son said “I know, they’re worse!”

    You’ve got a new NJ mommy follower here!

Leave a Reply

