Today I am Thankful I Know Better than…..

…to send a nasty email unless I know all the facts.

I always marvel at how educated adults who are employees at  respectable institutions send inconsiderate, rude and down right nasty emails.  It drives me crazy to think these people think they can hide behind email – when their email addresses, for all intents and purposes, serve as their signature and their face.

Case in point:  My staff received a nasty email slamming a service we provide.  Upon review of the issue, it was ascertained that the issues was not with our service, but with user error.  We explained this to our client and resolved the issue.  Their response was gracious and professional.  End of story.

Having been on the receiving end of rude emails has given me insight.  I am thankful to not have only received these emails, but thankful I can share what I learned with you.

 ….even though every ounce of my being wants to reply with a WTF email…hey I may be professional but I am human too 🙂

4 thoughts on “Today I am Thankful I Know Better than…..

  1. I am so very thankful for my beautiful, funny, smart, happy, and healthy 13 month old baby. It has been such an amazing year watching her grow and learn. This has truly been the best year of my life and am thankful everyday for the time I get to spend with her.

  2. I actually sent an online friend (through a mutual law school friend; I’m told we did actually meet while in law school) a sad note about how he’d seemingly blocked me from almost all access to his Facebook page. Usually I’d ask a question and then proceed, but I was so flustered and emotional (right after posting one of my bullying posts), I actually just removed him as a friend figuring I didn’t want Facebook to be the unilateral kind of playing field blogging can be.

    We had an exchange where he explained he’s been messing around with privacy settings and I’m meant to have full access, and I wrote an email back right then. And now am blocked.

    I know everyone flubs up, but, ugh. Is it ever irritating to make so much progress over so many years and then go do that again. Even if it has been a decade. :/

Leave a Reply

