Today I am Thankful…

…I am thankful for the words that make up the sentences that fill the paragraph, that completes the chapter and encompasses the book.  The vivid world our minds create and the connection we feel with the characters is matched by no other means.  Yes, sometimes filmmakers capture what a reader envisioned and other times you have to question why the guy made the wolves speak!

Two years ago, the youngest member of our book club convinced everyone to read the first book of the Twilight series.  She warned us we would not be able to put the book down and we would finish the entire series despite the requirement to read just the first.  We disregarded her warning.

By the next book club meeting, most of us had read the entire series –  sending husbands late into the night to purchase the next book, swapping copies in mailboxes and spending hours discussing the justification with imprinting.  The books are not well written, but they had this ability to capture us in a way that is close to incompressible.

A special guest attended Book Club that night

Last night, our book club went to see Breaking Dawn.  We really enjoyed the movie, but nothing will ever compare to the power the words in that book created for each of us and the connection we share with each other.

Join me in my 24 Days of Thanks.  Post on your facebook or twitter or blog and in the comment section of this post and the posts to come what you are thankful for.  Let’s share our thanks with others and spread joy and laughter this season.

2 thoughts on “Today I am Thankful…

  1. I didn’t take Twilight that seriously until I watched the first two movies. It was all hype I remember thinking. I got so addicted after watching them that I got a copy of the books on tape and listened to my hearts content. Bella’s battle to have her baby and then to raise her baby is what got me fixated. And, of course, seeing her handsome beau on screen…

  2. I am thankful for my parents. Tomorrow is their anniversary and I feel very lucky to have been raised with such a strong foundation. They complement each other perfectly and make each one a little better!

    I am also thankful for both my paternal and maternal grandparents, who also had amazing marriages and love. I am very lucky to have such great role models to use as reminders in my own marriage!

Leave a Reply

