Facebook, Why Can’t I Quit You?

I vaguely remember joining Facebook some time after the birth of my second child, but the exact year escapes me.  I reluctantly joined, was a quick convert ….. and I suppose one can say the rest is history.

However, over the course of time, I have developed a love-hate relationship with site.

I hate the “don’t I have such a great life” posts.  I hate the “complain, complain, complain” posts.  I hate the “self-righteous holier than thou” posts.  I hate that I have written such posts and then some.

I love the posts where someone makes me smile.  I love the posts that connect me with friends in a way that was never possible before.  I love the posts that make feel I am not alone.

Quite honestly, I am tired of the “work” that is involved to keep up with Facebook.  I have deleted most of my photos.  I have closed my wall.  I have turned off my email notifications.  I have hidden people and I have hidden almost all of the information I once so proudly posted.  If there was a way to delete my entire wall with a click of a button, I would have pressed that button long ago.  The idea of trying to find my first post to delete – well – I am just too lazy to even try this exercise.

So in the end, I toy with the idea of closing my entire account and yet, I can’t bring myself to do it.  Do I fear I will miss something if I am gone?  Do I fear whether anyone would even realize I was no longer online?

Facebook, why can’t I quit you?

I suppose in the end, the good just outweighs the bad or in this case, the love outweighs the hate.  So for now, I remain a Facebook user and pray Zuckerberg’s men create a simple “delete all prior posts”  button.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Facebook, Why Can’t I Quit You?

  1. Oh, man, do I ever relate. I keep saying “I’m gonna stop, I’m gonna stop,” but I can’t bring myself to do it. I’m trying to minimize what I put on there, and that’s sadly less than I used to. But new stuff keeps going up.

    I’ve contemplated going for a full delete once or twice, but I documented a lot of moments between my mom and Li’l D in her last weeks. Deleting that would feel like cutting a cord I feel comforted by, even if I never go back to look at those entries. Maybe someday I’ll be ready to do so, but not yet.

    • How special that you have those last moments documented. Your comment gives me a new outlook on my “relationship” with facebook. I suppose I will hide more of those who drive me crazy and curtail my own use. That way when I AM on the site I can appreciate it more!

Leave a Reply

