One Reason Why I Write

I have always been better with expressing my thoughts on paper than verbally.  My mother can attest to the pages and pages of “letters” that she would receive in where I explained why it was a great idea to allow me to vacation with my best friend, or why it was a great idea to let me go to the concert at the Garden without parental supervision or why it was imperative that I lived at away at school.  Against her better judgement, she would most often grant me permission as she waited for my next “letter”.

Almost 20 years later, I am writing again.  I write for many reasons, but today I share one of the most important reasons why I write.  My reason for writing is celebrating a very special day.

She is vibrant.  She is smart.  She is kind.  She ,too, is a writer.

I write to leave her an account of who I am and what I strive to be.  I write to show her the power each word, each sentence, each phrase can have on its reader.  I write to show her that she can be whatever she wants to be at whatever age (currently she wants to be a writer, ballerina and veterinarian – “I can take care of animals by day and then dance in the ballet on weekends and then write about it afterwards”)

On this very special day, I wish my inspiration, my daughter, a very Happy Birthday!

No tree is too high for my birthday girl October 2010

4 thoughts on “One Reason Why I Write

Leave a Reply

