It Doesn’t Surprise Me

In the wee hours of the morning, the lightning lit up the sky and the rain fell.  Under my covers, I felt safe and warm but I knew this feeling would be short-lived.  Scampering down the hall to my bedroom was my youngest and my oldest was not far behind.  As they peacefully slept, I was sandwiched in the middle and undoubtedly awake.

Tick Tock. Tick Tock.  I remember last seeing the clock read 5:42am…….the sound that wakes me this time is not thunder but the far more effective screech of my oldest.  “NO SCHOOL TODAY!” she exclaims at 6:15am.  Ironic coming from a girl who I normally must pry out of bed at 7:45am.

It doesn’t surprise me for one bit!  In fact, I can’t be more delighted to relive the excitement of knowing there is a full summer of fun ahead of me.  But for now I must shower, get ready for work and think warm summer thoughts!

Leave a Reply

