Single Parents, I Tip My Hat to You!

I am sitting in the bathroom with the shower running and air vent running while having a cup of coffee.  I am seeking just one hot minute of peace and quiet.  But my moment is short-lived.  The natives have found me and need more bubbles to clean the dogs.

I am, temporarily, a single parent.

I save our dogs from the natives and explain bubbles are just for humans.  Into the closet I go.  Hot coffee and my shoes.  Peace at last.  But again, my moment is short-lived.  That natives have answered the phone and want to know what our credit card number is. We have won a vacation.

I am, temporarily, a single parent.

I decline the once in a lifetime vacation and explain to the natives that it was just a joke.  Down into the laundry room I take my lukewarm coffee.  As the coffee touches my lips, I hear the stampede of one find me.  Moment lost. “I just went to the bathroom”, my youngest explains.  “Can you wipe me to make sure I am clean?”

I am, temporarily, a single parent.

I am a single parent for just under two weeks.  It’s just a spec in the grand scheme of time, but after only eight days as a single parent, I am spent.

To all of the Single Parents out there, I tip my hat to you.  I commend you for your dedication, your resilience and your un-ending committment to all that is presented to you on a daily basis.  I am in awe of you.

I take my cold coffee and pick up the phone and dial a number that never fails me.  “Hi Mommy.  It’s me………”

Leave a Reply

